Olympia Beauty 2013

Last Monday, I attended London’s Olympia Beauty show for the first time. After a two-hour journey, my Mum and I arrived at Kensington Olympia’s Grand Hall to the impressive sight of hundreds of exhibitors.

To avoid the rumoured four-hour queues, we rushed straight over to the Sweet Squared stand where three demonstrations were being carried out from various educators on CND’s Brisa Lite and Shellac. I’ve been desperate to get my hands on the new Intimates collection, consisting of four fabulous shades of nude, so I made it my mission. After only a 20-minute queue we ordered the new Intimates collection, one Charmed Holiday Duo set and finally the super shimmery Charmed Additives. I can’t wait to produce some stunning nail art with these for Christmas! While queuing I came across a demonstration for Virtual Nails by Dashing Diva. If anyone hasn’t seen these – check them out! They’re natural-looking, full coverage nails bonded with a gel pad adhesive. Set to last five days with no damage to the natural nail, these would be the perfect temporary solution for fashion shows and photo shoots.

The sight of Nail Harmony UK’s ‘All That Jazz’ stand also caught my eye with its unique décor. I ended up buying three ultra-glittery polishes; the red Louise’s Richer to Rubies, silver Lydia’s Dance The Night Away and blue Sofie’s I Own the Runway as well as a base and top coat. Before leaving, I had my photo taken with Jazz Smedley and even received a chocolate bar with the chance to a win a free manicure kit. Afterwards, I rushed my Mum up the staircase to have a good look at The Great Scratch Shoot Out! entries. Paulina Zdrada’s entry stood out by far with its fantastic 50’s themed nails.

Before leaving the event we had just enough time to visit Eve Taylor to pick up some of the brand’s gorgeous candles and we even got to speak to Eve herself. We also had a look at Nail Jewellery UK, a company that designs attachable nail jewellery in platinum, silver and gold. I’ve got a feeling this will be on plenty of clients’ Christmas lists – perhaps to replace the usual sought-after Pandora charms!

It’s fair to say the day was successful. Not only did I pick up lots of fabulous products, I came away feeling inspired and motivated.

Leave a Reply

