The Beauty Bimbo Stereotype

One thing I have come across numerous times in my career so far is that being a Beauty Therapist comes along with a major stereotype, stupid bimbo. Not only is this far from wrong but its ridiculous! I see painting a nail or producing nail art a talent which you can’t be taught but only guided.

When leaving High School we had individual meetings with career guidance. The lady presumed I was either going to college to study maths/science or something along them lines but when I told her I was enrolled at my local college to study Beauty Therapy Level 2 her mouth literally dropped to the floor! She then told me the career was no good for me and I needed to make the most of my grades by studying something more ‘productive’. The lady made me really mad and I told her she wasn’t going to change my mind and then left. I text my Mum straight away (a therapist herself) to tell her what had happened.

The lady made out as if my grades I had worked hard for were going to waste. But this allowed me go straight in at Level 2 and instead she motivated me even more to prove her wrong. When collecting my grades with all my friends in August I felt very proud but I knew I still wanted to follow the career I did years ago. I’ve only been studying a year and I’ve won WorldSkills Beauty Therapy Intermediate Regional s at Beauty UK, be featured in LOOK Magazine and also have a feature wrote about me and my blog in this months SCRATCH Magazine.

Not only does the stereotype look bad on therapists that work extremely hard to be where they are today but students that do produce bad or below average grades in high school follow the path of a Beauty Therapist as they believe it will be easy. But just after the first year of studying they release this is far from the truth and instead have wasted a year of their life studying something they will never pursue as a career in the future.

I’ll admit I have bleach blonde hair, I love pink nails and I’m very into make-up and fashion. However many people like me worked very hard in school to gain decent grades even if they didn’t need them for the career they wanted to follow. My heart is in Beauty Therapy which means it’s a career I will give 100% effort and dedication to. I’d choose my passion over a boring office job any day! 😉

Comments
2 Responses to “The Beauty Bimbo Stereotype”
  1. MillieMuppet says:

    I also hate the stereotypes people are given for their career choices, it’s sad how people are pressured into studying things they don’t want to because they’re told they should!

Leave a Reply

